Review~ The Opportunist (Love Me with Lies #1) by Tarryn Fisher

Review~ The Opportunist (Love Me with Lies #1) by Tarryn Fisher
This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
The Opportunist
by Tarryn Fisher
Series: Love Me with Lies #1
Published by Tarryn Fisher
Release date : November 14th 2011
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance, Drama
Pages: 278
Source: Gifted | Format: Paperback
Purchase at: Amazon (Affiliate Link) The Book Depository

Olivia Kaspen has just discovered that her ex-boyfriend, Caleb Drake, has lost his memory. With an already lousy reputation for taking advantage of situations, Olivia must decide how far she is willing to go to get Caleb back. Wrestling to keep her true identity and their sordid past under wraps, Olivia’s greatest obstacle is Caleb’s wicked, new girlfriend; Leah Smith. It is a race to the finish as these two vipers engage in a vicious tug of war to possess a man who no longer remembers them. But, soon enough Olivia must face the consequences of her lies, and in the process discover that sometimes love falls short of redemption.

Also by this author: Dirty Red, Thief
Also in this series: Dirty Red, Thief

The review that isn’t a review. More like a fangirling rant.

Funny Story– Two beautiful and fun ladies I know were heading to a signing and asked me if I wanted anything. Nice right? So, I went and looked at who all was going to be there and saw Tarryn was, so I was all, “YES, GET ME THIS BOOK BECAUSE I WANT TO READ IT LIKE TIME NOW.” I said it nicely, of course, but with that enthusiasm. Okay, now I am rambling. Needless to say, they got me a (signed!) copy. I was excited.

Here I am. Over 6 months later and just now reading this. Why? I don’t even KNOW. But I regret not reading it sooner because holy mother of all the WTFery.

I knew THE OPPORTUNIST would be good but I didn’t think my mind would be exploding by the end and immediately buying the remaining books in the series. Not only did I buy them; I then read them over the weekend. That’s right, y’all. I went off my artfully crafted schedule and did something spontaneous. *gasp* In any case.

Now that the rambling is over, I really don’t know how to review this. My opinions changed for all the characters, especially Olivia, over the course of the series. So it’s difficult to express how I felt then, ya know?

The gist is, Olivia runs into her ex of 3 years one day at a music store. Due to the nature of their break up- which we learn about throughout the SERIES, she is terrified to approach him. But, that’s the least of her issues. Because Caleb, has amnesia and doesn’t remember their relationship, and better yet, the terrible things that Olivia has done.

So. *cue drama*

Tarryn is a very talented writer; one of my new favorites. I just loved the way this is written. We get chapters of the present and past; alternating between the two throughout the book, getting a good look into the start of their relationship, the middle and eventually, how it ends. We see what it is that Olivia has done– the good, the bad and down right PSYCHO. It’s very engaging but horrifying, but you can’t help but be immersed and awed from start to finish.

The twists in this story are down right insane. You think you have things figured out? Nope. You think that Olivia can’t go any lower? Nope, she can. But the thing is, she isn’t the only one to blame or that is involved. Each and every character manipulates, lies, scams and just goes beyond the call of duty to get what they want. I applaud Tarryn for taking such a huge risk and making it work.

Although I was horrified at times, I loved Olivia. She did some.. very interesting things, some so low that I was shocked. I did get frustrated too, because you just KNOW nothing good will come of the situation, and the mistakes she made were endless. It took a while to really grasp her insecurities and understand why she is the way she is, but once you do? It sheds a little light on the situation. As for Caleb, well. I felt bad for the guy for the first part of the book. But looking into their past, you see that he isn’t wholly innocent. Like I said, everyone has done their fair share of THINGS.

I would discuss Leah, but I will share my thoughts for that piece of work for my review of DIRTY RED, which is scheduled for tomorrow (4/17). Too much to say about that wicked witch.

The ending?


That was a whole new brand of WTFery. You have no idea how much I wished I was able to reach into the book and punch someone in the face. And you would be surprised by who that would have been.



This is a must read. This book is full of characters you love to hate, entertaining storyline and really, it makes you think. How far would you go for the ones you love?



Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email below to subscribe to our blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,625 other subscribers

11 thoughts on “Review~ The Opportunist (Love Me with Lies #1) by Tarryn Fisher

  1. Eva @ All Books Considered

    Great review! This is my all time favorite series and I have read it twice! Although totally different, I also absolutely had my mind blown by Mud Vein. Tarryn knows how to get you and to tantalize you and to surprise you and to leave you begging for more. Such complicated characters and no easy answers or endings
    Eva @ All Books Considered recently posted…Waiting on Wednesday: Seducing Lauren (Love Under the Big Sky #2) by Kristen ProbyMy Profile

  2. Review ~ Dirty Red (Love Me with Lies #2) by Tarryn Fisher | LilybloombooksLilybloombooks

    […] Red, the second book in the Love Me with Lies series. If you missed my review of The Opportunist, go read that first before continuing […]

  3. Thief (Love Me with Lies #3) by Tarryn Fisher | LilybloombooksLilybloombooks

    […] with Lies series review continues with Thief, the third and final book. If you missed my review of The Opportunist and Dirty Red, read those first before continuing […]

Leave a Reply


CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.